newspool

Land of the free! Is this a joke? Cause I’m not laughing…

In Afasia's corner... on January 20, 2012 at 10:11 am

We received this article from a newspool follower! Thanks a lot for sharing your feelings with all of us!

Land of the free! Is this a joke? Cause I’m not laughing…

Last time I checked I don’t live in the US, but yesterday when I was trying to watch a TV series online I found out that Megaupload had been closed by the F.B.I., yes the US one. OK, now you must be thinking what an atrocious criminal I am for even trying to watch piracy online and I deserve to be burnt in a pyre or hang to rot until the crows pick out my eyes. Let me clarify that the TV show I was trying to watch is in Spanish and is not even out on DVD and I think it never will be, it was not that popular, in fact if it was out I would go out and buy it. It’s an old TV show that was aired on national television in 2003!

The site was closed for piracy acts, protecting the interests of the film and music industry. I understand they are protecting people´s rights, it’s their job! Isn’t it really?

That makes me think… I paid a subscription to Megaupload because I didn’t know they were a criminal site or any organized mafia group, or supporting terrorism and that they eat children for breakfast, had I know that I wouldn’t had subscribed. So let’s say I lost my money because now the site is down, strange, it seems my rights are not as important as the rights of the music and movie industries, because no one is going to give me my money back. Who’s protecting my rights then?

It took the internet a lot of time to get where it is today, it has taken a lot of research and effort to make it as fast as it is today, I don’t understand this policy of destroying all of this infrastructure just because one guy wants to change the color of his/her Ferrari.

I don’t remember giving the F.B.I. the rights to tell me what I can or what I can’t do. Here where I live I’m not breaking any law whatsoever, I don’t live in the U.S. they have no jurisdiction here, so really, wtf?

You have no right to tell me what I can or can’t do because I don’t live in your country and the world is not yours.

Something has to be done about this, so besides writing this article, I’m never setting foot on a cinema again. Maybe I’m being too radical about the situation but it’s the one thing I really can do. I can choose how to spend my money and I want to feel like a free world citizen again even if it’s just for a second.

Next thing I’m going to do if this madness continues is to cancel my broadband internet connection, for which I pay a lot of money, because just for reading my emails I don’t need more than 256K.

What is the next step, start burning books?

Leave a Reply

